EAC launches E-Passport, Admits S. Sudan

At the 17th East African Community (EAC) Heads of State Summit held on March 2, 2016 in Arusha, Tanzania saw the launch of the maiden electronic passport (e-passport) to ease the movement of the EAC citizens within the bloc. In addition, the summit also endorsed the admission of South Sudan in the trade bloc bringing the total membership to six nations; Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, Kenya, Burundi and now South Sudan.

Further to that, the Heads of state swore in the new EAC Secretary General, Mr. Liberat Mfumukeko from Burundi while the Chairmanship of the EAC was effectively assumed by President Magufuli of Tanzania. PSF was represented at the summit, and the key takeaway for our business people is that the heads of State also launched the Private Sector Fund and Code of Conduct aimed at fighting corruption within the EAC.